Home Family Holidays Guide to School Holidays and Long Weekends 2019

Guide to School Holidays and Long Weekends 2019

written by Stephanie Mikkelsen January 7, 2019
School Holidays Public Holidays Australia 2019

It may only be the tail-end of the Christmas and New Year holiday (some people may even still have extra time off tucked up their sleeve), but it is never too early to start looking forward to your next mini-break – especially when you know there is a long weekend or public holiday on the horizon. To help you answer the questions, ‘When are school holidays?’ or ‘When is the next long weekend?’, and to give you a kickstart on planning your travel plans for the rest of year, we’ve put together a handy run-down of each state’s upcoming public holidays and long weekends. We’ve also included the dates for school holidays and term breaks, just in case you had a longer holiday in mind. Find your state below and start making your travel plans now.

Victoria School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Labour Day: Monday 11 March
Easter: Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 10 June
AFL Grand Final: Friday 27 September
Melbourne Cup: Tuesday 5 November
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 6 April – Monday 22 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 29 June – Sunday 14 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 21 September – Sunday 6 October
Term 4 holidays: Saturday 21 December – Monday 27 January 2020

Source: Victoria State Government, Department of Education and Training

New South Wales School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Easter: Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 10 June
Labour Day: Monday 7 October
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October
Term 4 holidays: Saturday 21 December – Monday 27 January 2020

Source: NSW Department of Education

South Australia School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Adelaide Cup Day: Monday 11 March
Easter: Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 10 June
Labour Day: Monday 7 October
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October
Term 4 holidays: Saturday 14 December – Monday 27 January 2020

Source: South Australia Department for Education

Western Australia School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Labour Day: Monday 4 March
Easter: Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
Western Australia Day: Monday 3 June
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 30 September
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October
Term 4 holidays: Friday 20 December – Monday 27 January 2020

Source: Government of Western Australia, Department of Education

Tasmania School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Eight Hours Day: Monday 11 March
Easter: Friday 19 April to Tuesday 23 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 10 June
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October
Term 4 holidays: Friday 20 December – Tuesday 4 February 2020

Source: Tasmanian Government, Department of Education

Northern Territory School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Easter: Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
May Day: Monday 6 May
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 10 June
Picnic Day: Monday 5 August
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 13 April – Monday 22 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 29 June – Monday 22 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October
Term 4 holidays: Saturday 14 December – Monday 27 January 2020

Source: Northern Territory Government

Queensland School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Easter: Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
Labour Day: Monday 6 May
Ekka Wednesday (Brisbane area only): Wednesday 14 August
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 7 October
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 6 April – Monday 22 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 29 June – Sunday 14 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 21 September – Monday 7 October
Term 4 holidays: Saturday 14 December – Monday 27 January 2020

Source: Queensland Government, Department of Education

ACT School Holidays and Public Holidays 2019

Australia Day: Monday 28 January
Canberra Day: Monday 11 March
Easter: Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day: Thursday 25 April
Reconciliation Day: Monday 27 May
Queen’s Birthday: Monday 10 June
Labour Day: Monday 7 October
Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December

Term 1 holidays: Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April
Term 2 holidays: Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July
Term 3 holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October
Term 4 holidays: Tuesday 17 December – Tuesday 4 February 2020

Source: ACT Government, Education Directorate

The next step now that the dates are marked in your diary? Booking your holiday. Use Webjet to find cheap flights to domestic and international destinations, or do one better and book holiday packages, accommodation and car hire. Also make sure to check out the resort deals with Webjet Exclusives.

Feature image: Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

Dates correct at time of publishing, January 2019.